My post above confirms that you’re correct and the ref was wrong. Simple.H1987 wrote:Did you misread my post? No one said a header can be a back pass.spen666 wrote: ↑Sun Feb 02, 2020 12:34 amIf it deflects off a defender, its not a backpass, but if its a deliberate action by defender in kicking ball then it is a backpass.H1987 wrote: ↑Sun Feb 02, 2020 12:09 amDo they not?dl10quaker wrote: ↑Sat Feb 01, 2020 11:29 pmReferee was correct to give an indirect free kick for their first goal. Hedley purposely played the ball back to Connell where it then bounced off his foot onto his hand/arm. The goalkeeper doesn’t need to catch the ball for it to be a back pass. But it’s not a bookable offence, presumably why the referee has then claimed it was for dissent.....
I mean, I believe you, but I genuinely don’t think I have *ever* seen that rule applied before. In fact, while I’m struggling for specific examples off the top of my head, I’ve definitely seen goalkeepers save misplaced back passes and pretty sure I’ve never seen a free kick or card issued because of it.
It has to be kicked. A header is not a backpass
I’m aware of the earlier point, but I have only ever seen that enforced when a goalkeeper picks the ball up.
I’ll assume you weren’t at our game, but for context, Hedley plays the ball back to Connell and mis hits it up in the air, Connell sticks out a hand and parries it (looked like it would have gone in otherwise).
Honestly, I have never seen a back pass enforced before in such a context, at any level of the game - and I’m absolutely sure I’ve seen keepers make saves from errant passes before unpunished.
At the time, myself and I think many others not in the tinshed or hospitality thought he must’ve handled it outside of the box and were baffled it wasn’t a red card (as it turns out he was *just* inside the box, but it was right on the edge).
Truly strange. I realise I could be wrong, but I cannot ever think of another incident of a back pass being given for a keeper not picking the ball up, just parrying it. I’m not doubting this may be the rule - but if it is the rule, it’s a damned stupid one. As pointed out above, it’s there to stop time wasting. Surely a keeper should be allowed to save a mis hit pass.
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk